Prof. Lutz Ackermann

Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany

Professor Ackermann received his PhD in 2001 at the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung in Mülheim/Ruhr under the supervision of Professor Alois Fürstner. Thereafter, he pursued postdoctoral research in the laboratory of Professor Robert G. Bergman at UC Berkeley before initiating his independent research program in 2003 at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. In 2007, he was appointed as a Full Professor (W3) at the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen. Recent awards and distinctions include an ERC Grant (2012) and a Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-Preis (2017) as well as visiting professorships at the Università degli Studi di Milano, the University of Wisconsin at Madison, the Università di Pavia, Osaka University, the Ecole supérieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles de la ville de Paris, the Università degli Studi di Perugia, and Kyoto University. The development and application of novel concepts for sustainable catalysis constitute his major current research interests, with a current topical focus on electrochemical C–H activation. 

Link to group page


Prof. Phil Baran

The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, USA

Professor Baran earned his PhD from The Scripps Research Institute (Scripps Research), La Jolla, in 2001 under the supervision of Professor K. C. Nicolaou, after which he joined Professor E. J. Corey at Harvard University for postdoctoral research until 2003. Then, he returned to Scripps Research to begin his independent career. In 2008, he was promoted to the rank of professor and is currently the Darlene Shiley Professor of Chemistry. The mission of his laboratory is to educate students at the intersection of fundamental organic chemistry and translational science. His research group is one of the world-leading within the field of synthetic organic electrochemistry, both for method development as well as natural product synthesis. He has received several international distinctions, such as the Hirata Gold Medal and Mukaiyama Prize (Japan) and the Sackler Prize (Israel). In 2015 he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and in 2016 he was awarded the Blavatnik National Award. 
Link to group page

Prof. Shelley Minteer

University of Utah, Salt Lake City, USA

Professor Minteer received her PhD in analytical chemistry at the University of Iowa in 2000 under the direction of Professor Johna Leddy. After receiving her PhD, she spent 11 years as a faculty in the Department of Chemistry at Saint Louis University before moving to the University of Utah in 2011 where she currently is the Dale and Susan Poulter Endowed Chair of Biological Chemistry and Associate Chair of Chemistry. She is the Director for the CCI Center for Synthetic Organic Electrochemistry which is financed by the National Science Foundation (NSF). She has won several awards including the Luigi Galvani Prize of the Bioelectrochemical Society, the Missouri Inventor of the Year, International Society of Electrochemistry Tajima Prize, Fellow of the Electrochemical Society, and the Society of Electroanalytical Chemists’ Young Investigator Award. Her research interests are focused on electrocatalysis, bioanalytical electrochemistry, biosensors, biofuel cells and bioelectronics.

Link to group page

Prof. Siegfried Waldvogel

Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, Germany

Professor Waldvogel received his PhD in 1996 from the University of Bochum/Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung under the supervision of Professor Manfred T. Reetz. After postdoctoral research at the Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, California with Prof. Julius Rebek, Jr., he began his habilitation in 1998 at the University of Münster. In 2004, he moved to the University of Bonn as a Professor of Organic Chemistry. In 2010, he became Full Professor at the Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität Mainz. Recent awards and distinctions include the Novartis Chemistry Lectureship (2019), the Jaroslav Heyrovsky Prize for Molecular Electrochemistry (2019) and the Manuel M. Baizer Award (2020). His main research interest is organic electrochemistry with a particular focus on development of oxidative coupling reactions, natural product synthesis and fragmentation of biomass.

Link to group page

Prof. Thomas Wirth

Cardiff University, UK

Professor Wirth received his PhD in under supervision of Prof. Siegfried Blechert at the Technical University of Berlin, Germany. After receiving his PhD, he performed his post-doctoral studies Memory of Chirality as a scholar of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) under supervision of Prof. Kaoru Fuji at the University of Kyoto, Japan. His independent career (Habilitation) started in 1994 at the University of Basel where he worked with Stereoselective Oxidation Reactions and in 1999 he became  Privatdozent in Organic Chemistry. In 2000, he became Professor in Organic Chemistry at Cardiff University and his research focuses on synthetic methodology concerning hypervalent iodine reagents, chiral selenium reagents and electrochemical methods. He has won several awards including Werner-Prize of the NSCS (New Swiss Chemical Society), Furusato award (JSPS London), Wolfson Research Merit Award (Royal Society) and the Bader Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry. 

Link to group page